What does this woman want in a car?

March 18, 2008 at 7:32 pm 5 comments

It seems the automotive industry is finally taking women seriously when it comes to buying cars. I remember years ago I went by myself to by a car and was totally ignored at the first dealership I visited. I decided to take my husband with me to the second dealership (the first one was not worthy of my money now) and I got tons of attention. I was not amused.

I bought the car I wanted from the second dealership and then drove by the first dealership to let them see all of the money they did not make from my sale.

It drives me crazy when I hear commercials suggesting women care more about cup holders than performance or safety when buying a new vehicle. In fact, new information seems to suggest that women take longer to decide on what car they want and visit more dealerships when shopping around to get the best deal. If there is one thing I know how to do – it is shop.

I love those commercials for the 08 Cadillac CTS where Kate Walsh (of Grey’s Anatomy) not only shows she is informed on the features of the car, but that she can be sexy and informed at the same time. It is about time the automotive industry started giving women the attention they deserve. It’s only a few decades too late.

What do I want in a car? I want something that looks great and drives even better. I want the convenience of a luxury car without breaking the bank. I want a plush interior that can be easily cleaned when the family gets out of the car. I want comfort AND functionality. I want a car that plays my iPod without fumbling through the glove compartment. I want a car that I know I can depend on to will get me from A to B over and over again without a worry. In a gist – I want it all!

But most of all, the next time I go to buy a car by myself, I want the salesperson to take me seriously as a female consumer.

Entry filed under: equality, Stella Ramsaroop. Tags: , , .

Prostitution is not about glory, it is all about gory How Maureen Dowd lost her groove

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Greg S  |  March 19, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    What you want is a salesperson who is WomenCertified. There is finally a way to get what you want in the buying experience. We’ve created WomenCertified so that salespeople can learn how to treat and communicate with their women customers, becoming certified in how to do so. Car companies like Chrysler and GM, and many dealers themselves, are getting the message and getting their salespeople WomenCertified. This revolution extends beyond car buying too.

  • 2. stellar1  |  March 20, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Greg S,

    What a great idea IF:

    a) The approach is not toward the stereotypical female instead of the real female.

    b) The sales people take women seriously as consumers

    c) There is no patronizing the female consumer … ie appealing to vanity instead of intelligence.

  • 3. Zoe  |  March 20, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Interesting read Stellar1.

    My husband usually did most of the shopping around but we never bought without my approval. Often, while talking with the sales people I’d point out what I as a woman and a mother of growing children wanted in a vehicle. Over time, the sales people (who were always men btw) would be ready for me & tell me how the car companies were now listening to women consumers. I swear half of the van innovations were because of me. 🙂

    A female friend of mine recently bought a car, and her sales person was a woman. I’d like to say that this woman was sensitive and gave a damn about my friends needs and pocket book, but, she just ripped her off. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, it had to be taken in for some work. My friend introduced me to the sales person who flinched to move her hand and shake mine and then she noticed I was staring her down. There was no handshake.

    When I told my husband about the cost of the car and all the little extras that my friend was talked into, my husband was furious. Now, this wasn’t some obscure little car dealership in a town stuck on the four corners. This dealership is a well known city dealership. I can tll you, they’ll never get my business & I will never recommend it to anyone, just based on the fact that it’s clear they took a single woman for a joy ride the day they sold it to her. 😦

  • 4. madmonq  |  March 21, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    My wife has complained about this to me several times. If it’s a guy salesman person, they’d do well to remember she is a customer too and has money.

    I guess a woman sales person could corner the market and take away sales from the guys if they aren’t going to make the effort.

  • 5. andyadontstop  |  March 21, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    depending on where you live, you might want to try and find a “one price” dealer, similar to carmax. i work for one in san antonio, and it does not matter if you are male, female, young, old, experienced or not, you get the same price as everyone else. i’ve been here 5 years, and women do not get treated differently here.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Campaigns






Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

RSS Women’s Rights News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

