Here is what I think about Cosmo Magazine

June 20, 2007 at 4:03 am 1 comment

Cosmopolitan Magazine CoverI ran across a recent issue of Cosmopolitan Magazine the other day and was insulted by the captions on the front page. “The Girlfriend Habit That He’ll Love You More For.” “Secrets of Male Arousal.” “What Even Experienced Chicks Forget to Do in Bed.”

Who are they calling a chick?

I did not waste my time by opening this magazine. I am more of a newspaper type of girl. However, I have lived long enough to know that particular Cosmo (like all the rest) would have been chocked full of makeup tips, fashion advice and tons of advertisements. I was offended that Cosmo thought I cared about this shallowness at all.

I understand that I am probably not the target audience for this magazine, but I have daughters who are and it is just as offensive that Cosmo thinks they are so shallow. Is that all they think women care about in life – sex and fashion?

Allow me to correct myself; it was not sex being promoted on the front page of that Cosmo. It was all about how to please the man. There was nothing at all about how to have a mutually satisfying sexual experience. And here I thought this was the 21st century.

My request to Cosmo and all those other pushers of superficiality is that you give us something worth our time. Many of your potential readers simply do not care about the frivolity. We have enough of that rubbish pushed at us on a constant basis. We need something that is substantial and something that can make a difference in our world.

Entry filed under: feminism, feminist, misogyny, Stella Ramsaroop, women, women's issues. Tags: , , , .

What if women really acted like Ciara suggested in her song, “Like a boy?” Women should not obey men

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. chiroptera  |  March 14, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Unfortunately, that stuff sells. Keep women worrying. Keep our lives revolving around satisfying men and we won’t have time to think about our own wants.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Campaigns






Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

RSS Women’s Rights News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

