Mexico legalizes abortion – and the fun begins

April 25, 2007 at 12:34 pm 14 comments

mexico_flag.jpgIt is a huge step for a predominantly Catholic country to legalize abortion. I am almost giddy that this has actually happened because it shows that women are finally taking their rightful place in the Mexican society.

However, we all know the fight has only just begun. Conservatives will come out of the woodwork now to protest and try to reverse the decision just like they have worked tooth and nail to do in America.

Funny thing, my husband told me the other day that if Bush and his cronies achieve their goal of making abortion illegal in the US – that will be the day that civil war breaks out in America. He is so right and I replied by stating that I would be on the front lines.

The right for women to choose when and if they will bear children should never, never, never be decided by men – as it was last week in the American Supreme Court. This issue has nothing whatsoever to do with men, yet they insist on pushing their patriarchal notions on women at every turn.

Viva Mexico!

Entry filed under: feminism, feminist, misogyny, Stella Ramsaroop, women, women's issues. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Preacher’s wife gets lesser charge in murder trial Catholic Archbishop chooses to help children who do not exist instead of those who do

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jay  |  April 26, 2007 at 1:26 am

    Why don’t you care about rights for unborn women?

  • 2. stellar1  |  April 26, 2007 at 2:45 am

    I do not fight for the rights of unborn women because they do not yet exist, Jay.

    If you are a man, then you should concern yourself with men who get a vasectomy and let the women decide the abortion issue. This is about women, their bodies and their choices. You simply do not factor into the equation.

  • 3. Melissa  |  June 14, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    Jay you are very right to say what you did, I second that! You have to realize Feminists only care about themselves.

  • 4. stellar1  |  June 15, 2007 at 2:52 am

    Actually, Melissa I care about a great deal. I care that so many women live in poverty because the current patriarchal system held them down for thousands of years – no education, no say in politics, religion or anything of import, slaves to their men and nothing more.

    I care that my daughters grow up in a world where they are equal to any man at any time. I care that there is a female president so that little girls can learn about feminine leadership as well as all those men they read about everyday in their history classes.

    I care that women make the same money for the same job with the same experience as their male counterparts. I care that women decide what should be legal with their bodies – AND NOT MEN.

    I care that when a man rapes a woman today he is held accountable. I care that when a husband beats his wife he is put in jail. I care that when a man dare tell a lady she should submit to him that she has the knowledge and the courage to show him the door.

    And I care about you – that you are so brainwashed by this patriarchal system that you cannot even see how you have been trained to bow and curtsy to a male god and his male priests without ever second guessing that it could all be wrong. I care that one day you understand that you can be free from this degrading system.

    See, I care about a whole lot more than just myself.

  • 5. Melissa  |  June 17, 2007 at 5:14 am

    oh, that’s right. You care about other women! I see. So you don’t even believe in treating others with love in respect, like men? It’s all about women? And you are married? Your husband it okay with you putting down men, constantly?

    Let me tell you something, you may have grown up with a single mother, but my mother abandon me and my brother, and my father when I was still nursing! Should I be so hardened towards women for this “injustice” that my mother did towards me? No. Although my father stepped up to the plate and was both the mom and the dad, did I harden my heart, NO! Why? Because I understand that with sin in this world, there is no perfect person. We all make mistakes and thankfully we have a God that loves us and forgives us for those mistakes.

    As for you, I sense bitterness that causes you to remain as a feminist. From my experiences being around feminists, they are just bitter women who have hardened their hearts to all men.

    Do you not have children that are boys? What about those feminists that do conceive boys? I wonder if they abort the poor children. Tell me I’m wrong. Another thing, Don’t feel sorry for me, as I have a Father who I can always count on, my Father in Heaven. Oh, and I don’t bow down to men or priests (whoever said anything about priests, yuck!) So, keep your pity to yourself because I don’t need it, I like serving everyone, men and women alike.

  • 6. stellar1  |  June 17, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    It is not bitterness that caused my to choose to be a feminist or to remain a feminist. It is for justice that I choose this road. You are the one who seems to be bitter, Melissa.

  • 7. Melissa  |  June 17, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Titus 3:9. Enough has been said.

  • 8. Renali  |  June 27, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    “but my mother abandon me and my brother, and my father when I was still nursing! ”

    And therefore all feminists who care only about themselves? That’s some excellent misogynistic pseudo-logic, there.

    It’s great that your dad is a good man. So is mine. He is, in fact, the one who pointed me towards feminism. Feminists are always advocating for men to step up and be men. Which you would know if you actually knew a single thing about feminism.

    It’s clear that Melissa is completely and entirely clueless about feminists and feminism. But I’m sure if she tap dances for the patriarchy hard enough, they’ll award her with an honorary penis. Since women are so awful, and selfish, and all.

  • 9. Renali  |  June 27, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    “Do you not have children that are boys? What about those feminists that do conceive boys? I wonder if they abort the poor children. Tell me I’m wrong. ”

    My goodness. Melissa is nothing but a woman-hating troll. Your blog deserves better than this hateful tripe.

  • 10. stellar1  |  June 27, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Thanks, Renali. I leave that type of diatribe up so that others will see that these type of people do in fact still exist – which is why women have to stand up for themselves.

  • 11. pistolsex  |  November 13, 2007 at 6:27 am

    yay! lets celerbrate the deaths of unborn children!

    then lets eat the insides of a man!!! yay

    you disgust me

  • 12. courtney  |  November 15, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    I think it’s quite unfortunate that many people just don’t understand what Feminism is. And instead of taking the time to learn about it, they assume it’s a bunch of man-hating females who hate babies (and possibly eat them). In fact, Feminism is about the FACT that women and men are equal, and should therefore have an equal say in every social institution. Period. That’s it.
    It’s sad that so many women don’t understand that the only reason that they can vote, have legal recouse after rape (including marital rape), have a job, drive a car, own property/money, is because of….FEMINISTS!! So you can disagree about whatever you want, but it’s because of strong feminist women that you are allowed to live your life instead of being forced to submit to all men.
    Oh yeah….If you don’t like abortion, DON’T HAVE ONE!

  • 13. Lily  |  September 6, 2008 at 4:31 am

    lol WHAT eat babies?…feminist eat babies? its amazing to think that women would say such ignorant things like those. and hey here’s something mind blowing for you melissa CAN U MAKE AN ARGUMENT AGAINTS ABORTION THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE RELIGION???? renali stellar1 and courtney i am gratefull that for every religious radical there people like you standing up on the womans front. we need more of that and less of these crazy women bending over backwards to defend men because they have some underline spychological problem with momies abandonement. Both my parents abandoned me and i have not lost faith in women or men (melissa!). Lets Forget gender Forget Race we are all one equal humane being and we all deserve better than what we are being given.

  • 14. Anonymous  |  October 13, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Let me get this straight…you support civil war for the right to commit infanticide. You are so mentally warped it would be laughable were it no so sad.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Campaigns






Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Women’s Rights News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

