Preacher’s wife gets lesser charge in murder trial

April 19, 2007 at 11:01 pm 5 comments

lady_justice.jpgI have been watching the trial of Mary Winkler closely. She is the preacher’s wife who shot her husband because, according to her, he was a tyrant and abusive. The preacher man would not give his wife a divorce, but instead forced her to have sex when she did not want to and abused her emotionally and physically.

I was interested in how this would turn out because if she was found guilty of first degree murder, that would send a strong statement to women around the nation that they should not stand up to their abusive men.

On the other hand, she killed someone and should be accountable for her actions. A guilty verdict for first degree murder would have put her in jail for at least 51 years. Since she was found guilty of voluntary man slaughter instead, she will serve three to six years. I think this was an equitible decision.

There might be some who think this lady should have just walked away and left her husband alive. Those same people have no idea what a true tyrant can be like. If he did not want her to leave, he would not let her. Not to mention that there were children involved as well.

I feel like justice was served in this case. It seems that although justice turned it’s back on women yesterday via the Supreme Court decision to ban a certain type of abortion, today (thanks to a jury of mostly women) justice has graced us with her smile again.

Entry filed under: feminism, feminist, misogyny, Stella Ramsaroop, women, women's issues. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

The men have once again decided what a woman can do with her body Mexico legalizes abortion – and the fun begins

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Oakley  |  April 20, 2007 at 2:41 am

    I think she should be released on time served. I am a member of the church of Christ. I know how weird some of those preaches are. there is no way I would have put up with him. I don’t think I would have killed him but I would divorced him long before I ever had the second child.No man should ever treat any one like that. If i got my kids back I would never let them see his parents again. You know they have tried to turn her children against her. Having that child testify against her mother is unforgeable. they never considered the damage to the child. His parents will live to regret this.

  • 2. agnosticatheist  |  April 20, 2007 at 3:06 am

    Ann,

    Being that you’re familiar with that culture, can you identify with how trapped she felt in the relationship? I believe from her perspective, she couldn’t leave?

    aA

  • 3. Ann Oakley  |  April 20, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    I have had several dealing with church of christ people who were strong members of the church. one was a sexual pervert
    who was a youth minster and he molested my son he later ended up in prison in joliet ill. the other was a decon in the church who was also an attorney who I paid to take a case for me and he lied to me never filed the papers his law license has be revoked and his name is Randell beck and he lives in decatur al. after he lost his licence he went to work at walmart so that tell you how smart he was well needless to say he never repaid my money back. that is just an example of how weird the church of Christ is they knew all about this and did nothing about this. he still remains a decon in this church which is unbelievable. he is unqualified for this position.

  • 4. Ann Oakley  |  April 20, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Yes I am sure she felt she could not leave him. He had everything in his name. If she left every one would have taken his part and she would have lost her children. I hope she will be able to get her children away from his parents. The youth minster that molested my son went to jail the first time got out then married a lady from the church and ended up molesting her child and now he is in prison in joliet . no one should be fooled by a man of god.

  • 5. Brittany  |  April 27, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Wow..thats amazing!! By reading (Ann Oakley’s) passage she left. You would think she believed in God, speaking about a “Man of God,” But, I must say, you sure are criticizing alot of people when you say, “That is just an example of how wierd the Church of Christ is.” You gave no lead as to what religion you might be, but whatever it is…im sure there are wierd people of your religion to. This is a problem that her husband had, not the church. I am saying this not a member of the Church of Christ, so I am not defending my beliefs but innocent people, who have done nothing wrong and are wonderful people!!! Im terribly sorry that someone thought they could abuse your son, but that is not somthing the Church of Christ did to you. And, if they let him come back and be a youth minister, maybe that church made a huge mistake…but that does not mean that everybody of that faith is “wierd.” You have alot of anger, as I am sure i would to the person that abused your son. I can not imagine what I would feel if my daughter was molested by a youth minister at the Church I attend. I might have alot of anger towards the person, and maybe even that congragation, but not the “Church” as a whole. Feel free to comment back!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Campaigns






Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

RSS Women’s Rights News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

