My daughter doesn’t understand

February 23, 2007 at 5:32 am 1 comment

As I posted an article about Wimbledon’s decision to finally pay women players the same as the men players, my 14 year-old daughter came up behind me and asked what I was doing.

I told her about the article and she wanted to know why men were paid more for so long. As I tried to explain, I realised it was a very good thing that my 14 year-old daughter does not understand the reasons why men are still paid more than women in the 21st century.

When I was 14, I understood all too well that men were suppose to be better than women since it was drilled into my head at the church I attended three times a week. The superiority of men was in evident in so many aspects at my church, the women wore dresses to display our femininity, no women were allowed to preach from the pulpit, wives were to submit to their husbands, etc.

That my daughter has never been exposed to this type of thinking, it means there is no reason for her to ever think she should defer to a man in any aspect of life.

That there are so many young women growing up today without any idea that just a few years ago men were still thought to be superior to women, is one of the best indications that our society is indeed changing for the best.

Entry filed under: feminism, feminist, Stella Ramsaroop, women, women's issues. Tags: , , .

The real definition of a godly woman A link to women blogging on the CSW

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kate Hutchinson  |  March 18, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    It’s an interesting quandary… we live in a time where the youngest generation doesn’t understand sexism because it’s gone underground where it’s still insidious and maliciously tearing down women.

    Whenever I hear people say, “what are you complaining about? Women are equals/liberated now!” I want to lash out. Women are NOT yet equal, it’s just harder to explain the subtle lines of discrimination that are drawn around them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Campaigns






Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Women’s Rights News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

